School Christmas Photos and My End of Year Resolution

My goal before Christmas is to learn all of my middle school students’ names.  You may be wondering why it’s taken me four months of teaching in Japan to learn only 135 names.  Well, let me tell you.  Besides the fact that Japanese names sound complete foreign, most of the time I can’t even tell which is a student’s first name versus his or her last name.  Distinguishing between boys’ names and girls’ names is equally impossible.  Let me list some of my students’ names for you, to give you and idea of how much fun this End of Year Resolution is going to be.  All of these names are pronounced differently.  I’m pretty sure they  are all first names.

Yuu (boy), Yuu (girl), Yuuka, Yuki (boy), Yuki (girl), Yuri, Yumi, Yumie, Yui, Rui, Ryouta & Ryouto (both boys’ names), Rena, Reina, Taira, Taiga, Taiki, Natsuki, Natsumi, Miku, Maki, Mako, Maho, Miho, Kazuki, Kazuma, Kana, Kanae, Yae, Sae, Chihiro & Chiharu (twins), Haruka, Haruna

 

P1000862

P1000870 P1000859

One thought on “School Christmas Photos and My End of Year Resolution

Leave a Reply

